Click here to reserve study rooms in two hour blocks at the Seth Wilson Library.
Locate is our online catalog you can use to look up books in our library, or through the MOBIUS network. Access online through the link above or by visiting https://occ.edu/academics/seth-wilson-library. You can also access the catalog on one of our two catalog kiosks in the library, located on the top and bottom floor near the staircase.
Use Locate over the EDS if you are looking for a physical book from our library, or to request an item from Mobius. For all other searches, we recommend using the EDS.
Use Ebsco’s Discovery Service as a catalog as we have integrated all of our resources into one search to streamline the research and discovery process for you. Search through the Seth Wilson Library’s physical and electronic collection, JSTOR, Libby, and Ebsco, all at once.
MOBIUS is a consortium of over 230 libraries that we are apart of. If we do not have a resource you need, expand your search and check MOBIUS. If any of our partner libraries have what you're looking for, you can request it and it will be shipped for free to the Seth Wilson Library for you to pick up. You can access MOBIUS through our online catalog with your OCC credentials. If you are not a local student, check this link for a partner library near you to utilize MOBIUS, or even to request books from our own collection.
EBSCO is a database with access to thousands of resources that we subscribe to for our students to utilize. There are a few important updates regarding changes to EBSCO features, that we think will be beneficial for our students. We recommend that you use Ebsco Discovery Service (EDS) rather than Ebsco Host, which had been the only option. Ebsco Discovery still offers a few of the same key features we recommend to our students, such as searching the database by scripture, while also adding, most notably, the ability to search through all of our resources at once, including JSTOR, our own catalog, and partner libraries' collections. This makes the search and discovery process of research much more streamlined, which is why we recommend exclusively using EDS rather than Ebsco Host.
JSTOR is a database consisting largely of journal articles, as well as other resources. JSTOR notably contains a majority of peer reviewed material, as well as primary sources, making this a valuable resource to include in your research. Follow the prompts on the welcome page to register with your institution to gain immediate and free access.
We have curated several collections for our students through Bloomsbury including:
Eerdmans Bible Commentaries
Eerdmans Digital Reference Library
T&T Clark Encyclopedia of Second Temple Judaism
These resources are available through the link above(select “Login through my Institution” as well as in our catalog. Visit this guide for more information on how to use Bloomsbury.
Libby is a free app that gives you access to thousands of ebooks and audiobooks. Download Libby on your phone or tablet and register using your OCC ID or library card barcode.
Seminary Now is a theological platform that offers a variety of biblical, theological, and ministry related courses from a range of experts.
Get started learning today with Seminary Now by setting up your new account for full access:
Perlego is an online library featuring thousands of academic and scholarly texts that you can read through the app, similarly to Libby, or on a browser. It is subscription based, and OCC has covered the fees for our remote and graduate students to ensure you have access to a quality digital library, since stopping by the SWL may not be an option for you. If you are interested in utilizing Perlego, register using the link sent from the coordinator of your respective programs(graduate and online).
Canvas
All students are sent an invite to the Seth Wilson Library Canvas course at the beginning of the semester. If you choose to accept this invitation, you have easy access to all library resources, as well as guides relating to online work, reference help, and information literacy. To get help, send a message through Canvas or use the Chat feature to get connected with our Technical Services Librarian, Annie.
Association of Christian Libraries Reciprocal Borrowing Program
Through the Seth Wilson Library’s membership with the Association of Christian Librarians, you also have the option to utilize member libraries collections that participate in the borrowing program. Find more information about the Association of Christian Librarians Reciprocal Borrowing Program here to take advantage of member libraries collections near you. Once you have completed your authorization form per the link above, forward the form to our Technical Services Librarian, Annie Lazure at lazure.annie@occ.edu to begin participating in the program.